IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Special Broadcast From Waco, Texas
dismuke
post Jun 17 2006, 04:38 AM
Post #1


Administrator
***

Group: Admin
Posts: 587
Joined: 21-May 03
Member No.: 1



The Radio Dismuke "Mobile Studio" recently traveled from Fort Worth to Waco, Texas to record a special "Texas Record Collectors Party" broadcast. Joining me were fellow Texas record collectors and regular Radio Dismuke and Dismuke.org contributors Eddie The Collector from Waco, Matt From College Station (from College Station, of course!) and Christian Kohlhaas who traveled in from Austin. The purpose of the broadcast was to have fun sharing great vintage recordings from our respective 78 rpm record collections.

The program mostly features jazz and dance band recordings from the 1920s and 1930s - but we also included a few records from the 1910s, the 1940s and even some vintage records from Britain, Germany and Soviet Russia. Some of the recordings we feature are quite rare and many have never been subsequently reissued on LP or CD.

And what's a party without refreshments? We actually had some: a 1904 vintage patent medicine that is still being made along with a couple of unusual soda pops which originated from 19th century medicinal remedies. For fun we actually sampled them - some for the very first time - while we recorded the broadcast. I think it is safe to speculate that no other vintage music radio program has ever done anything quite like this before - and probably with good reason! Not to worry though - most of the program is devoted to playing really outstanding 78 rpm recordings. And thanks to Radio Dismuke's Souvenir VSP real time audio restoration equipment, the sound quality on most of the 78 rpms is excellent.

The broadcast lasts 2 hours and 52 minutes* and will be aired on Radio Dismuke at the following times:

Saturday June 24, 2006
(Live 365 and LoudCity streams)

United States Listeners
9:00 PM - Eastern Time
8:00 PM Central Time
7:00 PM - Mountain Time
6:00 AM - Pacific Time

International Listeners
1:00 AM Sunday - GMT


Sunday June 25, 2006
(Live 365 and LoudCity streams)

United States Listeners
Noon - Eastern Time
11:00 AM - Central Time
10:00 AM - Mountain Time
9:00 AM - Pacific Time

International Listeners
4:00 PM - GMT


Friday July 30, 2006
(Live 365 and LoudCity streams)

United States Listeners
9:00 PM - Eastern Time
8:00 PM - Central Time
7:00 PM - Mountain Time
6:00 PM - Pacific Time

International Listeners
1:00 AM Saturday - GMT


Saturday July 1, 2006

(Live 365 and LoudCity streams)

United States Listeners

Noon - Eastern Time
11:00 AM - Central Time
10:00 AM - Mountain Time
9:00 AM- Pacific Time

International Listeners

4:00 PM - GMT


You may access both the Live 365 and LoudCity streams on the Radio Dismuke website. The Radio Dismuke chat room will also be open on the days of the broadcasts so that you can interact in real time with others who are listening to the broadcast. There will also be a link to a technical issues blog where any known technical issues which might impact the broadcast will be posted as quickly as possible.

We had a lot of fun putting this broadcast together and I hope you get a chance to join us for one of the airings and enjoy some of the great recordings that we played.

- - - - -

* NOTE: The broadcast runs 2 hours and 52 minutes. Our original intention was to record a 4 hour broadcast but, unfortunately, the power supply in my control board began to fail and we had to cut the broadcast short. However, because it was our original plan, there are several references during the broadcast of it being 4 hours in length.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th December 2021 - 06:31 AM