Forum Rules 

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Edison Records, Value
retmilpostman
post Oct 21 2003, 03:49 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 71

Does anyone have any idea what Edison Records are valued at these days? These are the 1/4 inch thick records. I think most are pre 1915.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
rocky
post Oct 28 2003, 02:35 AM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 3

I think I clicked on the wrong button to answer your inquiry on Edison diamond discs, so I'm rewriting it.

I'm no expert on the value of old records. However, Edison diamond discs are going for about $4 or $5 apiece on the 20th Century Records site. I'm sure valuable ones will bring in more.

Edison manufactured disc records between 1912 and 1929. Tim Graczyk wrote an interesting article on Edison diamond discs. A quick Google search under "Edison diamond discs" will bring up the article for you.

+Quote Post
Fredrik
post Oct 28 2003, 09:44 AM
Post #3

Advanced Member

Member No.: 4

A problem with these thick vertically cut Edison discs is that they can only be played on Edison's own machines, not on standard 78 rpm players, which of course limits the circle of potential buyers and therefore also - I assume - the commercial value.

Fredrik

+Quote Post
rocky
post Oct 30 2003, 02:25 AM
Post #4

Advanced Member

Member No.: 3

There's a one-hour program devoted to Edison diamond discs on Mac's Antique Phonograph Music Program. This jazz and blues diamond disc program aired on October 14, 2003 and can be heard at the archives.

Go to http://wfmu.org/playlists/AP

+Quote Post
dismuke
post Oct 31 2003, 05:32 AM
Post #5

Administrator

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1

QUOTE(retmilpostman @ Oct 20 2003, 09:49 PM)
Does anyone have any idea what Edison Records are valued at these days?  These are the 1/4 inch thick records.  I think most are pre 1915.